Chile success sees La Roja trimmed in World Cup 2018 betting

6th July 2015 | World Cup Betting category: World Cup Betting & Odds
World Cup Betting & Odds

The final of the Copa America 2015 came down to a penalty shoot out on the weekend, as host nation Chile played out a 0-0 draw with favourites Argentina in Santiago. La Roja then put the Albiceleste to the sword in eh shoot out, winning 4-1 with some ease to give them their first ever South American title. Big coup for Chile, especially running on home soil in front of their passionate support but now the question is, how far will that take them when the next World Cup rolls around in three year’s time?

Does being the champion of South America translate to a successful World Cup to follow it up? There will actually be another Copa America before Russia 2018, as CONMEBOL are celebrating with the Copa America Centenario. This out-of-scheduled tournament isn’t a real Copa America as we know it, as six CONCACAF teams will be in there and it is going to be hosted in the USA too, so that really isn’t going to count towards the history of Copa America winners.

None of the last five winners of the Copa America have followed it up with the title at the following World Cup. The ones who came closest to doing so were Brazil at the 1998 World Cup when they lost 3-0 against France in the final. But as a positive though looking forward for Chile’s chances at World Cup 2018, four of the last five Copa America winners have made it past the group stage of the World Cup and three of those have finished with at least a quarter final place.

The only exception in all of this is Colombia who won the Copa America in 2001 but then slumped in their World Cup 2002 qualification after apparently suffering a post Copa America hangover. Colombia failed to make it to the 2002 World Cup. Prior to Chile’s win this year, Uruguay were last last winners of the Copa America to head to a World Cup and they made it to the round of sixteen after getting the better of England and Italy in the group stage of the 2014 World Cup, which most Three Lions fans will want to quickly forget.

But the other three Copa America champions have put in decent displays at the following World Cup, holding the honour of being South American Champions at the time. There was Brazil’s semi at the 1998 World Cup, their quarter final at the 2006 and 2010 World Cups. So it really isn’t unreasonable to expect that Chile will make a quarter final berth at Russia 2018. The should definitely get out of the group that’s for sure, but they are still priced at a hefty 25/1 with online bookmaker Bet365 to win the tournament. Even England are shorter than that at 20/1.

Chile have a great squad at the moment with the likes of Eduardo Vargas, Arturo Vidal, Alexis Sanchez and Charles Aranguiz and in three year’s time at the World Cup, they will all be between 28 and 31 years old, so really in their prime. The only time that Chile have really made an impression at a World Cup was in 1962 when they finished in third place after losing to Brazil in the semi finals. That was the year that the World Cup was hosted in Chile, so if the 2018 World Cup was being hosted in Chile, you would naturally assume that they would go even better.

But a long trip to Russia may not necessarily suit them too well. La Roja have exited at the round of sixteen in each of their last three appearances at the FIFA World Cup (1998, 2010 and 2014). So even as reigning South American Champions, you really aren’t expecting Chile to go and pick up the title. However, they could be great value to back for a place in the final eight. Prior to the 2015 Copa America, they hadn’t been past the quarter finals since their 2nd pace in 1987.

2018 World Cup Winner odds

Germany 9/2, Spain 7/1, Brazil 7/1, Argentina 8/1, Frame 11/1, Italy 14/1, Netherlands 16/1, Belgium 20/1, England 20/1, Colombia 25/1, Chile 25/1, 33/1 bar

Earn a 100% matched deposit bonus as a free bet at online bookmaker Bet365 when you register a new account with them. The bookmaker will match the value of that initial deposit on a new account up to £200 and customers can enjoy superb football betting features live in-play betting, 0-0 bore draw insurance, live streams, partial cash-out bets and acca win bonus on Europe’s top matches.

Mentioned offers may be restricted to new customers, T&C's apply. Older offers may be not valid anymore. See details directly at the bookmaker's website. All tips on our site are based on the personal opinion of the author. No success is guaranteed. Please gamble responsibly. 18+

* All mentioned odds were valid at the time of writing. Betting odds are subject to fluctuations. Please check the current odds with the respective bookmaker!

Read the latest world cup news:
Football World Cup News
England 3/1 to host World Cup 2030 with Ladbrokes
World Cup Betting & Odds
England 14/1 to win the 2022 World Cup in Qatar
France v Croatia- World Cup 2018
Who will win France vs Croatia – Prediction & Odds, World Cup 2018
Belgium v England- World Cup 2018
Who will win Belgium vs England – Prediction & Odds, World Cup 2018
Croatia v England - World Cup 2018
Who will win Croatia vs England – Prediction & Odds, World Cup 2018
World Cup 2018 Betting Predictions
World Cup Semi Final Predictions and Odds 2018
France v Belgium - World Cup 2018
Who will win France vs Belgium – Prediction & Odds, World Cup 2018
World Cup Betting & Odds
England second favourites to win World Cup 2018

Our World Cup Betting's Top 5 Online Bookmakers
William Hill William Hill
Paddy Power Logo Paddy Power
Sportingbet Logo Sportingbet