England World Cup 2014 Squad announced by Roy Hodgson

12th May 2014 | World Cup Betting category: Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News

The 23 men who will be representing England at the 2014 World Cup is now known. Gaffer Roy Hodgson has opted for a young looking squad, with only five over 30’s making the grade. While the Southampton trio of Rickie Lambert, Adam Lallana and Luke Shaw all got their spots as many had expected, Hodgson has also thrown Everton youngster Ross Barkley, who has three international caps, into the fold.

Hodgson, who has always been known as a man of caution, will earn his stripes for having gone with such a young squad which includes Jack Wilshere, Alex Oxlade-CHamberlain, JOrdan Henderson, Phil Jones and Raheem Sterling. Only six of Hodgson’s selections have played at a World Cup before.

Tottenham defender Kyle Walker couldn’t force his way into the squad after missing out so much time with a pelvic injury which he picked up during a Europa League match in mid March. Chelsea’s Ashley Cole, who retired from international duty and therefore eliminating himself from selection will leave Luke Shaw and Leighton Baines filling the two left back spots. Manchester United’s Michael Carrick could only make the reserve list.

Also going on the seven man standby list, is Everton’s much hyped centre half John Stones, and who will come into the squad if Manchester United’s Phil Jones doesn’t recover from his shoulder injury in time for the World Cup. John Ruddy, John Flanagan, Andy Carroll, Jermain Defoe and Tom Cleverley are also on standby for duty.

Hodgson has pushed for a young squad here, with only Steven Gerrard, Phil Jagielka, Frank Lampard, Rickie Lambert and Ben Foster being 30 years of age or older. England are 33/1 to win the World Cup

England squad:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Celtic), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Joe Hart (Manchester City).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Attackers: Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United).

Standby: John Ruddy (Norwich City), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool), John Stones (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC).

England play Ecuador on June 4th before taking on Honduras three days later, both matches being played in the hot and humid Miami, Florida. The Three Lions will then head to Brazil 2014, where they face Italy in their opening match on June 14th.


Read the latest world cup news:
Football World Cup News
Prince Ali Al-Hussein even money favourite to win FIFA election
World Cup Betting & Odds
England 25/1 to bank 100% World Cup 2018 qualification campaign
World Cup Betting & Odds
CONMEBOL World Cup 2018 Qualification Begins
Football World Cup News
Platinti to face challenge from Prince Ali for FIFA Presidency
Football World Cup News
Will there still be venue changes for 2018 and 2022 World Cups?
Football World Cup News
Three England Lionesses make World Cup All Stars Squad
Football World Cup News
Platini stands as favourite for FIFA Presidency
World Cup Betting & Odds
England faces Scotland in World Cup 2018 qualifiers

World Cup Betting's Top 5 Online Bookmakers
Bet365 Logo Bet365 £200 Bonus www.bet365.com
William Hill William Hill £25 Bonus www.williamhill.com
Paddy Power Logo Paddy Power £50 Bonus www.paddypower.com
Sportingbet Logo Sportingbet £25 Bonus www.sportingbet.com
Coral Logo Coral £20 Bonus www.coral.com