World Cup 1930

World Cup History

Host: Uruguay
Winners: Uruguay
Runners-up: Argentina
Third Place: United States
Fourth Place: Yugoslavia
Top Goalscorer: Guillermo Stabile – 8 Goals
Participants: 13 (Argentina, Belgium, Boliva, Brazil, Chile, France, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Romania, United States, Uruguay, Yugoslavia)

1930 saw the very first World Cup take place with just 13 teams participating  with Uruguay winning their very first World Cup title against Fellow South Americans Argentina. Uruguay were given the honour of hosting the very first World Cup finals due to the fact that the country were celebrating the centenary of their independence.

13 is unlucky for some and certainly a bizarre number of participants for a World Cup. There was nine countries from South America in action while just four from Europe made the trip around the world to Uruguay. Many European countries simply could not afford to travel across the globe just for a football tournament, hence why so many South Americans took part.

Lucien Laurent of France has the unmatchable honour of claiming the first ever goal in a World Cup when they beat Mexico 4-1 to also claim the first ever victory in a World Cup.



Uruguay 4 – 2 Argentina – Montevideo 93,000 Attendance


Uruguay – Dorado, Cea, Iniarte, Castro
Argentina – Peucelle, Stabile



Read the latest world cup news:
World Cup Betting & Odds
World Cup Previews & Predictions
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
World Cup Betting & Odds

World Cup Betting's Top 5 Online Bookmakers
Bet365 Logo Bet365 £200 Bonus
William Hill William Hill £25 Bonus
Paddy Power Logo Paddy Power £50 Bonus
Sportingbet Logo Sportingbet £25 Bonus
Coral Logo Coral £20 Bonus