World Cup 1950

World Cup History

Host: Brazil
Winners: Uruguay
Runners-up: Brazil
Third Place: Sweden
Fourth Place: Spain
Top Goalscorer: Ademir (Brazil) – 8 Goals
Participants: 13 (Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, England, Italy, Mexico, Paraguay, Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, United States, Uruguay,  Yugoslavia)

After 12 years without a World Cup, it was the South American continent who once again prepared to play the host for the 1950 World Cup. The honour was left to Brazil and this was the first time the remainder of the globe got to see some Brazilian samba although the Brazilians had to settle for runners-up as their South American counterparts, Uruguay, won the tournament to secure their second and last World Cup title to date.

FIFA were eager to get the competition back up and running as soon as possible but had difficulties finding a host as most of Europe lay in ruins after the second World War. No one was even slightly interested in hosting the first World Cup since the World War until Brazil stepped up with a proposal to host in 1950 instead of 1949 as previously planned by FIFA.

The 1950 finals was the first time the Jules Rimet trophy was introduced to mark the 25th anniversary of Rimet’s presidency of FIFA. Uruguay lifted the trophy although they were the first country to win a four-team group final and this was the first and last time this was used.



Uruguay 2 – 1 Brazil – Estadio do Maracana ~ 199,954


Uruguay – Schiaffino, Ghiggia
Brazil – Friaca


Third Place Play-Off:

Sweden 3 – 1 Spain


Sweden – Sundqvist, Mellberg, Palmer
Spain – Zarra



Read the latest world cup news:
World Cup Betting & Odds
World Cup Previews & Predictions
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
World Cup Betting & Odds

World Cup Betting's Top 5 Online Bookmakers
Bet365 Logo Bet365 £200 Bonus
William Hill William Hill £25 Bonus
Paddy Power Logo Paddy Power £50 Bonus
Sportingbet Logo Sportingbet £25 Bonus
Coral Logo Coral £20 Bonus