World Cup 1974

World Cup History

Host: West Germany
Winners: West Germany
Runners-up: Netherlands
Third Place: Poland
Fourth Place: Brazil
Top Goalscorer:  Grzegorz Lato (Poland) – 7 Goals
Participants: 16 (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, East Germany, Haiti, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Scotland, Sweden, Uruguay, West Germany, Yugoslavia, Zaire)

West Germany were the hosts for the 1974 World Cup and were handed the honour back in 1966, the same year they lost in the World Cup final against England. However, it as West Germany who put their differences a-side when they went on to win in front of their home and expectant fans, beating the Netherlands 2-1 in the final. This was West Germany‘s second World Cup title with many German’s expecting future success at international level.

For a second successive World Cup both France & Spain failed to make the cut although they were amongst England who also failed to qualify. This opened the door for some new potential world beaters with East Germany, Haiti, Australia and South African Zaire all bracing the World Cup for the very first time.


Netherlands 1 – 2 West Germany – Olympiastadion ~ 74,100 Attendance



Netherlands – Neeskens
West Germany – Breitner, Muller

Third Place Play-Off:

Brazil 0 – 1 Poland


Brazil –
Poland – Lato



Read the latest world cup news:
World Cup Betting & Odds
World Cup Previews & Predictions
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
World Cup Betting & Odds

World Cup Betting's Top 5 Online Bookmakers
Bet365 Logo Bet365 £200 Bonus
William Hill William Hill £25 Bonus
Paddy Power Logo Paddy Power £50 Bonus
Sportingbet Logo Sportingbet £25 Bonus
Coral Logo Coral £20 Bonus