World Cup 1978

World Cup History

Host: Argentina
Winners: Argentina
Runners-up: Netherlands
Third Place: Brazil
Fourth Place: Italy
Top Goalscorer:  Mario Kempes (Argentina) – 6 Goals
Participants: 16 (Argentina, Austria, Brazil, France, Hungary, Iran, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, West Germany)

The 1978 saw once again the value of home advantage as Argentina won the finals after beating the Netherlands, who consequently lost their second successive final. This was Argentina’s first title and they became the fifth country to win while hosting the tournament.

Once again it was English fans who suffered World Cup heartache as England failed to qualify for the second time in succession. Czechoslovakia were the biggest name not to make the finals while Iran and Tunisia enjoyed their first over several stints in a World Cup but failed to make any real inroads.


Netherlands 1 – 3 Argentina – Estadio Monumental ~ 71,438


Netherlands – Nanninga
Argentina – Kempes x2, Bertoni

Third Place Play-Off:

Brazil 2 – 1 Italy



Brazil – Nelinho, Dirceu
Italy – Causio



Read the latest world cup news:
World Cup Betting & Odds
World Cup Previews & Predictions
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
World Cup Betting & Odds

World Cup Betting's Top 5 Online Bookmakers
Bet365 Logo Bet365 £200 Bonus
William Hill William Hill £25 Bonus
Paddy Power Logo Paddy Power £50 Bonus
Sportingbet Logo Sportingbet £25 Bonus
Coral Logo Coral £20 Bonus