World Cup 1990

World Cup History

Host: Italy
Winners: West Germany
Runners-up: Argentina
Third Place: Italy
Fourth Place: England
Top Goalscorer:  Salvatore Schillaci (Italy) – 6 Goals
Participants: 24 (Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cameroon, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czechoslovakia, Egypt, England, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Scotland, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, USSR, West Germany, Yugoslavia)

It was the Italians who got their opportunity to assert themselves on home soil but failed to match the expectations of the home fans as they finished the tournament in third place. However, their downfall left the door open for Germany and they did so with a-plum. Their may of narrowly edged out Argentina in the final but their victory in the final meant they levelled with Brazil and Italy on three World Cup titles.

Their was a bit of controversy surrounding the tournament after two nations were disqualified from competing. Mexico were punished for fielding an overage player in a prior youth tournament while Chile were given the boot after goalkeeper Roberto Rojas faked an injury after a firework was thrown from the stands which led to the match being abandoned. FIFA threw the book at Chile though and also disqualified them from the 1994 World Cup as well.

There were a few new nations with North Americans Costa Rica played their first part in the finals while Republic of Ireland and The United Arab Emirates also participated in their first World Cup‘s.



Argentina 0 – 1 West Germany


Argentina –
West Germany – Brehme


Third Place Play-Off:

Italy 2 – 1 England


Italy – Baggio, Schillaci
England – Platt



Read the latest world cup news:
World Cup Betting & Odds
World Cup Previews & Predictions
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News
World Cup Betting & Odds

World Cup Betting's Top 5 Online Bookmakers
Bet365 Logo Bet365 £200 Bonus
William Hill William Hill £25 Bonus
Paddy Power Logo Paddy Power £50 Bonus
Sportingbet Logo Sportingbet £25 Bonus
Coral Logo Coral £20 Bonus