New Zealand announce 23-man squad

10th May 2010 | World Cup Betting category: Football World Cup News
Football World Cup News

World Cup’s don’t come around too often if you’re a Kiwi fan, just once previously in fact back in 1982. So it’s somewhat fitting that the man currently at the New Zealand helm was part of that 23-man squad in 1982 that took New Zealand to new heights.

Ricki Herbert ended a 26 year World Cup drought when he masterminded New Zealand’s progression through qualifying, strolling through the Oceania qualifying before defeating Bahrain in a two-legged play-off. Few fancied their chances of making the finals, with their inclusion in South Africa very much a shock, but Ricki Herbert is confident that the squad he has assembled is capable of springing a shock or two and doing a Rugby/Cricket mad nation proud.

Before naming his squad, Herbert made a promise that the bulk of the team that ensured New Zealand would appear in the FIFA World Cup in South Africa would keep their place, although his reluctance to add Aaron Scott to the 23-man strong squad means his promise was tainted somewhat. Even so, the vast majority consists of the players who worked so hard to get New Zealand into the finals were selected, while room was left for some possible surprise inclusions, some late entries into the Kiwi fold if you like. Aaron Clapham, a Kiwi with a big future on the international scene according to Ricki Herbert, fitted the bill perfectly and it’s his name which has shook the New Zealand pack as a surprise candidate for a World Cup appearance.


From an English perspective, Blackburn’s Ryan Nelsen will captain the Kiwi’s through their South African adventure, while Tommy Smith (Ipswich Town) and Rory Fallon (Plymouth Argyle), the latter scoring the goal which sent New Zealand to South Africa, will retain some English interest from a country which may well attract it’s fair share of neutral support.


Ricki Herbert and New Zealand will first take on Slovakia on June 15th once the finals commence before trying their luck against Paraguay and reigning World Champions Italy in Group F.


New Zealand 23-man Squad:

Goalkeepers: James Bannatyne, Glen Moss, Mark Paston

Defenders: Andy Boyens, Tony Lochhead, Ryan Nelsen, Winston Reid, Ben Sigmund, Tommy Smith, Ivan Vicelich

Midfielders: Andy Barron, Leo Bertos, Tim Brown, Jeremy Christie, Aaron Clapham, Simon Elliott, Michael McGlinchey, David Mulligan

Forwards: Jeremy Brockie, Rory Fallon, Chris Killen, Shane Smeltz, Chris Wood

Mentioned offers may be restricted to new customers, T&C's apply. Older offers may be not valid anymore. See details directly at the bookmaker's website. All tips on our site are based on the personal opinion of the author. No success is guaranteed. Please gamble responsibly. 18+

* All mentioned odds were valid at the time of writing. Betting odds are subject to fluctuations. Please check the current odds with the respective bookmaker!

Read the latest world cup news:
Football World Cup News
England 3/1 to host World Cup 2030 with Ladbrokes
World Cup Betting & Odds
England 14/1 to win the 2022 World Cup in Qatar
France v Croatia- World Cup 2018
Who will win France vs Croatia – Prediction & Odds, World Cup 2018
Belgium v England- World Cup 2018
Who will win Belgium vs England – Prediction & Odds, World Cup 2018
Croatia v England - World Cup 2018
Who will win Croatia vs England – Prediction & Odds, World Cup 2018
World Cup 2018 Betting Predictions
World Cup Semi Final Predictions and Odds 2018
France v Belgium - World Cup 2018
Who will win France vs Belgium – Prediction & Odds, World Cup 2018
World Cup Betting & Odds
England second favourites to win World Cup 2018

Our World Cup Betting's Top 5 Online Bookmakers
William Hill William Hill
Paddy Power Logo Paddy Power
Sportingbet Logo Sportingbet