¤  World Cup Betting  ¤  sitemap
    Star Profile
Midfield - Brazil
    Team Profile
    Free Bets


Group C



World Cup participations: 13
Greatest World Cup achievement: 2-time World Cup winners (1978, 1986)

Argentina secured its place at the world cup before Brazil, but in the end only finished second in the south america group.

Nevertheless the 'Gauchos' are an absolute favourite for the world cup title. They don't lack stars - Carlos Alberto Tevez is a rising young star; already known are Riquelme, Aimar, Cruz, Cambiasso, or Messi.

Coach Pekerman got the job, because he brought Argentina serial Junior World Cups, now he has to prove that he can also do it at the 'grown-ups'.

The great strength of Argentina is the passing play around playmaker Riquelme. Add South Americas footballer of the year Carlos Tevez, the next youngester Lionel Messi - wonderful!

Now it depends if Pekerman manages to form a unity out of the many individual artists, but at collectives Argentina was always good - this should work thus Argentina is for us absolute world cup title aspirant.

The odds on Argentina as world cup winner were naturally not too high
- 10.0 at Betandwin.
For a bet on group winner Argentina you get 2.0.


Argentina is most likely to lead South America's challenge at the 2006 World Cup rather than four-times champions Brazil. 

Argentina has a squad of which majority are seasoned campaigners based with major European clubs. So much so that locally-based stars such as Boca Juniors' sublimely gifted midfielder Juan Roman Riquelme have not managed to force their way into the squad. Adrian Messi who plays with Barcelona is expected to make it big in the World Cup. 

Even though Argentina have twice won the World Cup, in 1978 and 1986, their history is not free of the darker sides. The infamous quarter-final against England in 1966, Diego Maradona's Hand of God goal in 1986 will never be forgotten. There is also a tendency towards violence and gamesmanship which do not go down well with neutral observers and have often made them unpopular. 

In 1978, when they hosted and won the competition, it was under the sinister shadow of one of South America's most notorious military dictatorships. In 1990, they became the first team to have two players sent off in a World Cup final. Four years later, the team was rocked by the Diego Maradona doping scandal. 

However, times have changed. Argentina are no worse than any other modern, professional team. They even picked up the Fair Play trophies at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta and the 2001 World Youth championships, which the country hosted - and won in great style. 

Players to watch out for: Sorin, Adrian Messi, Juan Roman Riquelme

World Cup Squad Argentina

This is the official world cup squad -
you can find here all the world cup players for Argentina

Roberto Abbondanzieri
Leonardo Franco
Oscar Ustari

Fabricio Coloccini
Roberto Ayala
Gabriel Heinze
Juan Pablo Sorin
Gabriel Milito
Nicolas Burdisso
Leandro Cufre

Lionel Scaloni
Esteban Cambiasso
Javier Mascherano
Luis Gonzalez
Pablo Aimar
Juan Roman Riquelme
Maximiliano Rodriguez

Carlos Tevez
Hernan Crespo
Lionel Messi
Rodrigo Palacio
Javier Saviola
Julio Cruz

Other World Cup Teams

Group A  Germany  Costa Rica  Poland  Ecuador
Group B  England  Paraguay  Trinidad and Tobago  Sweden
Group C  Argentina  Cote d'Ivoire  Serbia and Montenegro  Netherlands
Group D  Mexico  Iran  Angola  Portugal
Group E  Italy  Ghana  USA  Czech Republic
Group F  Brazil  Croatia  Australia  Japan
Group G  France  Switzerland  Korea Republic  Togo
Group H  Spain  Ukraine  Tunisia  Saudi Arabia

    Site Features
    Top Bookmakers


18+ BeGambleAware.org
About Us    |    Betting    |    Links
©  2005-2012, World-Cup-Betting-2006.

Disclaimer: This site is NOT endorsed, affiliated to, or claims recognition to represent the FIFA or any official Football organisation. This is an UNOFFICIAL FAN site.