¤  World Cup Betting  ¤  sitemap
bet 365
    Star Profile
Michael Ballack
Midfield - Germany
    Team Profile
    Free Bets


Group A

Costa Rica

costa rica

World Cup participations: 2
Greatest World Cup achievement: Last 16 (1990)

The team of strategist Alexandre Guimares has qualified for the world cup as third in the CONCACAF group behind Mexico and USA.

Striker Paulo Wanchope has been transferred to Quatar recently after many years in England (Man City, Derby, West Ham) - he is the star of Costa Rica. Besides him colleague striker Ronald Gomez (once played in Spain's primera division) and defender Martinez (at Brescia in Italy) are known. By the way - coach Guimares was part of the legendary Costa Rica team that reached the second round in 1990.

For Germany the 'Ticos' should not be a danger, but opening matches are never easy. Also Ecuador and Poland are estimated higher, but surprises are possible.

The odds on Costa Rica as world cup winner were extremely high
- 751.0 at Betandwin.
For a bet on group winner Costa Rica you get 26.0.

Nickname Los Ticos 
Association Federación Costarricense
de Fútbol 
Coach Alexandre Guimaraes, 2005- 
Most caps Luis Marín (111) 
Top scorer Rolando Fonseca (42) 

First International
Costa Rica 7 - 0 El Salvador
(Guatemala City, Guatemala; Sept 14, 1921) 

Largest win
Costa Rica 12 - 0 Puerto Rico
(Barranquilla, Colombia; December 10, 1946) 

Worst defeat
Mexico 7 - 0 Costa Rica
(Mexico City, Mexico; August 17, 1975)
Mexico 7 - 0 Costa Rica
(Mexico City, Mexico; October 23, 1975) 

World Cup 
Appearances 2 (First in 1990) 
Best result Round 2, 1990 

Appearances 7 (First in 1991) 
Best result Second place, 2002 

World Cup Squad Costa Rica

This is the official world cup squad -
you can find here all the world cup players for Costa Rica

Wardy Alfaro
Jose Porras
Alvaro Mesen

Gilberto Martinez
Luis Marin
Michael Rodriguez
Harold Wallace
Jervis Drummond
Douglas Sequeira
Leonardo Gonzalez
Michael Umana
Gabriel Badilla

Carlos Hernandez
Walter Centeno
Christian Bolanos
Randall Azofeifa
Mauricio Solis
Danny Fonseca

Ronald Gomez
Alvaro Saborio
Victor Nunez
Kurt Bernard
Paulo Wanchope

Other World Cup Teams

Group A  Germany  Costa Rica  Poland  Ecuador
Group B  England  Paraguay  Trinidad and Tobago  Sweden
Group C  Argentina  Cote d'Ivoire  Serbia and Montenegro  Netherlands
Group D  Mexico  Iran  Angola  Portugal
Group E  Italy  Ghana  USA  Czech Republic
Group F  Brazil  Croatia  Australia  Japan
Group G  France  Switzerland  Korea Republic  Togo
Group H  Spain  Ukraine  Tunisia  Saudi Arabia

    Site Features
    Top Bookmakers


18+ BeGambleAware.org
About Us    |    Betting    |    Links
©  2005-2012, World-Cup-Betting-2006.

Disclaimer: This site is NOT endorsed, affiliated to, or claims recognition to represent the FIFA or any official Football organisation. This is an UNOFFICIAL FAN site.