World Cup History

World Cup History

When placing bets on the 2018 FIFA World Cup, it is always helpful to look back at World Cup history, as it can definitely lead to pointers of what may happen in the current tournament. Studying this aspect of World Cup form can help sway decisions on matches as well outright winners of groups and the tournament itself. History of the World Cup is packed full of thrilling matches, some incredible moments of skill that will get replayed over and over again, some controversial decisions and moments, upsets, and all of the aspects of the beautiful game which makes this the greatest football competition on earth. Statistics against group and knockout opposition can all be found in the annals of World Cup history, guides to year’s past can all help in determining what could happen this time around in Russia 2018.


World Cups 1930 - 2010

Year World Champion Runners-up Result Venue
2014 Germany Argentina 1:0 AET Brazil
2010 Spain Holland 1:0 AET South Africa
2006 Italy France 6:4 pen. Germany
2002 Brasil Germany 2:0 Japan/Korea
1998 France Brasil 3:0 France
1994 Brasil Italy 3:2 pen. USA
1990 Germany Argentina 1:0 Italy
1986 Argentina Germany 3:2 Mexico
1982 Italy Germany 3:1 Spain
1978 Argentina Netherlands 3:1 AET Argentina
1974 Germany Netherlands 2:1 Germany
1970 Brasil Italy 4:1 Mexico
1966 England Germany 2:1 AET England
1962 Brasil Czechoslovakia 3:1 Chile
1958 Brasil Sweden 5:2 Sweden
1954 Germany Hungary 3:2 Switzerland
1950 Uruguay Brasil 2:1 Brasil
1938 Italy Hungary 4:2 AET France
1934 Italy Czechoslovakia 2:1 Italy
1930 Uruguay Argentina 4:2 Uruguay



Details about all World Cups unitil now:

2014 World Cup in Brazil

2010 World Cup in South Africa

2006 World Cup in Germany

2002 World Cup in South Korea/Japan

1998 World Cup in France

1994 World Cup in the USA

1990 World Cup in Italy

1986 World Cup in Mexico

1982 World Cup in Spain

1978 World Cup in Argentina

1974 World Cup in Germany

1970 World Cup in Mexico

1966 World Cup in Enland

1962 World Cup in Chile

1958 World Cup in Sweden

1954 World Cup in Switzerland

1950 World Cup in Brazil

1938 World Cup in France

1934 World Cup in Italy

1930 World Cup in Uruguay



Mentioned offers may be restricted to new customers, T&C's apply. Older offers may be not valid anymore. See details directly at the bookmaker's website. All tips on our site are based on the personal opinion of the author. No success is guaranteed. Please gamble responsibly. 18+

* All mentioned odds were valid at the time of writing. Betting odds are subject to fluctuations. Please check the current odds with the respective bookmaker!

Read the latest world cup news:
Football World Cup News
World Cup Betting & Odds
France v Croatia- World Cup 2018
Belgium v England- World Cup 2018
Croatia v England - World Cup 2018
World Cup 2018 Betting Predictions
France v Belgium - World Cup 2018
World Cup Betting & Odds

Our World Cup Betting's Top 5 Online Bookmakers
William Hill William Hill
Paddy Power Logo Paddy Power
Sportingbet Logo Sportingbet